Flying High / Flying Low

Soaring up high, the winds take you on their flight
Racing the clouds, banking into the light
They have places to be, and you have things to do,
But at that very moment, all that matters is you

Your thoughts crowd together – they won’t be ignored,
Their need to be heard, is stronger than before
A scream, a sigh, a whimper, a cry
What follows might well be a prayer on the fly

Bring me home, says a muted voice
A plea blown away as the wind gushes by
I’m not meant to be speeding in the sky
I’m good for my word, screams a dreary mind
Be it day or night, by what’s right I will stand

Fluttering thoughts resent idling time
I’ve made my promises, now don’t make me whine
In this life I live, I may not shine
But I have promises to keep – mine and thine.

 

Leave a comment